My favorite line from the whole book that ends up becoming a catchphrase throughout, “Some people are just too interesting to kill.”

This summer’s reading has truly been all over the place. I’ve had other worlds full of magic, distant futures battling aliens, not-too-distant futures becoming friends with aliens, zombie apocalypse stories, and my lovely wife reviewed a wonderful bit of fiction about a world full of books. Considering today’s crazes, though TEMPORARY they may be, I realized that in all this wonderful reading there was something missing. Many of you enjoy this craze and participate in it. It’s kind of a creepy, morbid thing to like, but it raises questions in our minds about the nature of death and the world around us. That’s right, I’m talking about the vampires.

But if I’m going to trip into this world of immortal blood-suckers, I need to make it classy. I don’t want to just read any old book. Nothing stupid where vampires are stuck looking like angst-ridden teenagers. And if anyone sparkles in the sunlight, it’s the main character as he heavily perspires while chopping wood. And we know early on that chopping wood was just a way to get in shape for chopping the heads off of the undead.

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter. It’s not a phrase you’d have heard before this trend took over the book and film top-selling charts. Actually you might have still heard it. Below that popular series lies something that geeks are enjoying, and that’s reworked classical novels with a splash of crazy fiction thrown in. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies was the first. The nice pretty world of Jane Austen, where all the characters hide an inner strength for fighting off the zombie horde in pretty dresses from the time. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters follows a similar trend. I hadn’t read either of these, because they were fiction splashed with fiction. And it was a Jane Austen knock-off. Not my cup of tea.

We all know the basics of Abraham Lincoln’s life. He came from Illinois. He lived in a log cabin. He was tall, and wore a hat that made him even taller. He had a short wife. He was the 16th president. He helped free the slaves with the Emancipation Proclamation and the Civil War. But what if…. what if that was just the beginning? What if everything about his life was able to be explained by some other motive? Well this author sets out to show you that vampires led him to hate the slave trade as well as the more personal vendetta for killing his mother and his first love.

My real problem in reading this book is that I cannot separate the fact from fiction. Yes, I presume all the parts about killing vampires or talking to vampires or seeing vampires rape slaves was fake. But I don’t know his real life story. If anything reading this has made me want to find a real biography. That’s the dangerous thing when you mix important facts with a dash of fiction.

Overall I found this a humorous and interesting novel to read. There’s a nice ending that you would expect if you thought about it. I do my best not to think on such things while reading, so I can get the full joy of the surprise. Yes, the depressing thing about reading biographies is they always end with a death. But to see how this man lived; that is truly an adventure worth recording. And sometimes having some fun with the details of that adventure can be cool too.

