Zelda, that legendary game. The game that one must play. The game that is, for some reason, named after a princess who plays a minor role, rather than the hero who is actually called Link. I did not have any direct experience with this fabulous entertainment until the events I describe below.
I had heard of the game, of course. There are so many parodies and fan-made movies of Legend of Zelda out there, from which I guessed the basic premises of the story. At one point, I decided I wanted more than just the basic premises and wanted the full story from an actual game.  Dumbtechgeek rented Twilight Princess from Blockbuster, and he played through the majority of the game over a six-day period while I watched. I liked the story, the pretty graphics, and the puzzle elements in the game. I remarked, “I could like this game for the story and all its puzzles, if only there weren’t so much fighting.”

Some time after this, I decided I will try a Zelda game myself. I chose Ocarina of Time because it is an iconic, almost classic Zelda game. Everybody, supposedly, has played it, and one need not be a hard-core gamer in order to enjoy this game. I also had a hunch that this is the one that most of the parodies and fan-movies are based on. Dumbtechgeek bought Ocarina of Time for me.  I started a save file and named my hero Clarito (and subsequently imagined all the in-game dialogues in dramatic, foreign accents). Thus began my – and Clarito’s – adventure.

Clarito died many, many times. When I saw anything that attacked, I would mash the controller buttons and madly hack everything, often to Clarito’s demise. And ah, walking would have been the death of me! I could not make him walk in a straight line or on a path. Many a times he fell off bridges and narrow walkways (into a fiery pit, bottomless chasm, and that sort of thing). Shooting with  bow and arrow was another near-insurmountable difficulty. I could never shoot an arrow where I wanted.

I was often clueless about what to do next or how to get where; Clarito was stuck inside the Deku Tree for two days trying to figure out how to get into the basement. Ridiculous it may seem to you, but these things are not so obvious to a new gamer. Dumbtechgeek, an experienced gamer, gave helpful hints here and there to help progress the story. Two times I actually handed the controller to him: at the top level of the Fire Temple to get Megaton Hammer, and for the boss battle against Bongo Bongo in the Shadow Temple. At Fire Temple, I could not run along a narrow, circular ledge on a timer – I might have done it if there were no timer, perhaps.  And Bongo Bongo just was not fair, folks. Not fair. The music from that boss battle still haunts my memories.

I got a little better at fighting after I learned to calm down and time my attacks. I managed to walk slowly on narrow walkways, though I could never run on them. I made up for my lack of marksmanship by first aiming with a Hookshot or a Longshot  (both of which show a red dot where it is aimed, like a laser) and then switching to bow and arrow. I greatly enjoyed all the puzzle-like elements in the game. The water temple was my favorite, and I am proud to say I beat its boss by myself without any help and died only three times in battle (aren’t fairies wonderful?). I even beat the final boss battle on my fifth or sixth try.

As it turns out, I did like the adventure. I am amazed that someone made a fighting-type, quest-minded game that even a slow gamer like me can fully enjoy. I am looking forward to the new Legend of Zelda game coming out.  Not that I will jump on playing it immediately; now that we have set the precedent, we  will have to follow the tradition of Dumbtechgeek playing it first, while I watch the story of Legend of  Zelda unfold.

