I will tell you honestly, I really wanted the Kindle Fire to win this fight. It’s backed by a stronger company, offering more media services. Any time I search for a book, Amazon’s typically the first link that pops up and well over half of them have Kindle versions available.

But my reasoning boiled down to a few sharp differences between the two. First, and potentially the most important, is the presence of a Netflix app. Yes, it is likely that the Fire will be getting one in the coming months. But it’s instant streaming video. INSTANT. Who has time to wait months? I did some setup work on a Nook Tablet someone else is getting for Xmas, and within a minute of connecting to the Internet, I was streaming the first episode of Sherlock to the beautiful color screen. Now with a stand to prop the thing up, it becomes a little television that can show me hours of old Warehouse 13 or How It’s Made episodes.

Another contrast is the option to expand memory. Now Nook has taken a lot of heat in this area, but it still comes out on top in my opinion. The Kindle Fire has 8GB of memory, 5-6 of which are available for whatever you want to put on it. Apps, books, pictures, etc. all go on that 5-6GB. It also has a cloud storage service, so the only Amazon content you need on the device is the thing you’re currently watching or reading.

But on the Nook – with its 16GB hard drive – they currently have it formatted so that only 1GB is available for apps, books, pictures, and other stuff. The reason they’re doing that is because their online cloud storage isn’t as robust, or they just don’t want to deal with the headache. Instead, they have given the other 13GB (2 for OS, 1 for free use) to house Barnes & Noble specific content.

Now that may all sound like a major slam, but as I said in my previous post on this, the Nook offers expandable memory. That means with the purchase of one tiny memory card, I will have 33GB of space to use as I please. Which I will appreciate a lot, because a number of the books and apps I want may not come from the B&N digital store. Through various sources, I’ve collected a couple interesting books that I want to read, and they’re all waiting on my computer to be loaded on my Nook when I get it.

The last consideration was file formats. My wife mentioned that I made it look like the Nook Tablet supported a ton more file types. The thing was, I copied that information from Amazon and B&N’s sites, respectively. So the truth of the matter is that the Nook actually DOES support a ton more formats. And since the Nook seems to have come without any custom software to convert files to acceptable types, it makes my job of finding or converting to the right stuff a lot easier.

One super benefit to getting either the Kindle or the Nook: technology is actually making me want to read more. I already enjoyed reading, but most technology only takes me away from new books. Wii and computer games are awesome, but I have felt them pulling me away from time enjoying a good fantasy novel. Plus other people around me will sometimes listen to a story I read in a book. Telling them about Team Fortress 2 gets boring fast if they don’t play the game. “I blew up the guy standing in front of me, then the guy behind him shot me and I died.” That’s cool, but not as interesting as Sherlock Holmes gathering pieces of evidence through his extreme observational skills and deductive reasoning.

Now that I am super interested in reading more, I’ve found a ton of books that I’d like to pick up for the cheaper digital price and enjoy. Here’s a list of some of them.

The Measure of Magic by Terry Brooks
It came out in August and I still haven’t gotten it from the library or picked it up myself.

G. K. Chesterton: A Biography, by Ian Ker
As I said, super interesting dude that probably led a super interesting life.

God’s Battalions: The Case for the Crusadesby Rodney Stark

Miracles: The Credibility of the New Testament Accounts, by Craig S. Keener

What is the Mission of the Church: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission, by Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert

The Fire by James Patterson

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
Nerdfighteria FTW!

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Saw the crappy movie based on it. Might as well read the book.

The Art Museumby Phaidon Press

Good Eats: The early years
Good Eats: The middle years
Good Eats 3: the later years
I’m Just Here For The Food

Van Gogh: The Life by Steven Naifeh
Blame Doctor Who for my sudden interest in this author’s life

City of Bonesby Cassandra Clare

The Map of Time by Félix J. Palma

Robopocalypse by Daniel H Wilson

The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

